A Fresh Graduate Story of Mohammad Ikhsan

In this post, I will show you a story of a friend of mine. Up until now, this story is one of the best stories that ever appeared on the dashboard of my tumblr. It was a real story about how a fresh graduate is trying to live up to his dream. Life often gives us many dazzling options. If the offered options are not what you really want, what would you do? Would you reject those options? Or.. Would you choose to take those dazzling chance?

This is what happened to lots of fresh graduates, facing obstacles in their way to deliver the ideal they dreamed of. In the end, failure is not bad if it happens because your plan did not work. Well, we can’t control the universe. I mean, if you had a great preparation but other uncontrollable variables made you fail, it was not your mistake. It’s just out of your control. The point is you have done your best. That made your live worth living!

So here is a story of Ikhsan that I copied from his tumblr (http://moikhsan.tumblr.com/post/23862533494/old-friend written on May 27, 2011)

Old friend…

Last year all I had to do was show up, talk, and sign. Money. But I didn’t. I had an idea. An idea I shared with a few people. We were six. They seem to like the idea. I knew one loved it. So I walked away and decided to pursue the idea. Crazy. So time went on, the idea grew, the idea spread, the idea gained mass, and it seemed perfect. Crazy. I loved the idea, it was to be the first here in my country. It was to be my way to give back to this country.Then an old friend came tagging along bringing along the promise that the days to come will not be so dark. Money. And with it it took a person who shared the idea. And with it it took what seemed to be one of our most spirited. Can’t blame him. We were all in a crossroad at that time with our blue, sleeveless attire and our silly squared caps. But the rest decided to continue. Crazy. And we went on, nurturing our precious idea until one we depended on for his nurturing skills just was to preoccupied with things he loved more. And so we sought a savior. Once. Twice. Three times. The three we sought could not deliver. And so we trained. To fill the gap so we could continue with our idea. The one I hoped would blossom. Now down to four.

Then an old friend came tagging along bringing along the promise that the days to come will not be so dark. Money. He brought a new friend as well, Education. This new guy brought along a dream. And with them they took two who shared the idea. And with them they took what was surely our most gifted and skilled to nurture the idea. And with them they took what was surely our most charismatic and of course our youngest. Can’t blame them either. It was their crossroad this time with their blue, sleeveless attires and their silly squared caps. Happy days. And then there was two.

The one who I knew loved the idea from the start as much as I had. And me. Our skills have gained along the way, but at the end, we did not have enough. We were not as gifted as others who shared the idea. And so we said good bye after almost two years. My friend decided to continue the training we started while pursuing our beloved idea, but I had stumbled upon another idea. Crazy.

So time went on, the idea grew, the idea spread, the idea gained mass, and it seemed perfect. Crazy. I loved the idea, not the first here in my country, but, none the less, it was to be my way to give back for four fun, educational, and inspiring years.

This time however, I had the skills, at least I thought, to nurture the idea so it would blossom for me at last. This time I put it in my own hands. I put it to myself to see the idea I loved blossom in the day. I worked hard and was nearly there. One more week I predicted, until my idea would blossom for me at last.

Then an old friend came tagging along bringing along the promise that the days to come will not be so dark. Money. He brought a new friend as well, Expertise and Family. This first friend, Expertise, brought along a hammer. To squish my hopes to nothing. This hammer said that my work was garbage. That it was not good enough for people to use. That it would only make trouble in the days to come. Gone was the thought that I had the skills. Gone was the hope that my idea would ever blossom. The second friend came and put the icing on the cake. The friend took away the person we delegated as our leader as the friend needed him more than we did. But who could blame them. I guess one was trying to teach me a lesson as he was Expertise. And the other, once again, he was in his crossroad with his blue sleeveless attire and his silly squared cap.

Now here I am, with work rated fit for the recycle bin and flustered beyond imagination. Money, Education, Expertise, and Family. They’ve taught a few things these past two years and given me a few skills along the way. They’ve also given me something that will be priceless. A story to tell when someone in the near futures asks of me, “What was the biggest failure in your life so far?”

Leave a Reply

