Cognition, Radar Sensing, Echoic Flow, and a Joke about Radar

Firstly, please don’t be scared of the title, I am not going to write something in a rocket scientist language :p

I just attended a seminar held by division of circuit and system. It’s not my division, but since this seminar will talk about radar, I planned to attend it when I saw its poster at the previous day.

Why did I attend this seminar?

The seminar title was “Cognition, Radar Sensing, and Echoic Flow”. Actually, there was a lot of seminars on radar in the past few weeks, but for this time I was eager to come because it is very relevant with my topic. My research topic is Surveillance Cognitive Radar Signal Processing. Yet, I don’t know anything about cognitive radar. I barely read one paper about it, but I already decided that it will be my research topic for the years to come.

So, I sought for enlightenment about cognitive radar. Up until this time, I am not quite sure whether my understanding about cognitive radar definition is correct or not (even though I had attended the seminar),

The interesting insight I acquired

As I told you earlier at my previous post, radar researchers envy bat which could locate obstacles very well. A group of bats can choose a safe path. Well, in this seminar this story of bats was being explained in a few graphics.

Interestingly, this echolocation ability is not only appeared in bats. It turns out that every homo sapiens in this world has such an ability. However, we just do not use it frequently. That’s why we don’t realize the existence of our echolocation capability. Nevertheless, some people had developed their echolocation ability at a level where they could understand and describe the shape of particular things without eyes. They are blind people who could do tongue clicking to get some kind of visions from the echo of that sound. Somehow they could reconstruct the information from echoing sound to represent an object.

This kind of story was first brought up not by a radar engineer but psychology community. Neuroscientists are curious about which part of the brain that works when people doing echolocation. If I am not mistaken, this part of the brain is the same part processing vision.

Well, I guess I am just tired to write more technical explanation. Maybe I am going to write more about it later.

A Joke about Radar

Radar has been used for a long time. And I guess, it started on the world war. However, there are so many researchers doing research on this field. This will lead to a question, is radar already saturated? or, on the contrary, it is just emerging?

Someone threw this question. Mr. Chris Baker said that we just barely touch the surface of this echoic flow.

Leave a Reply

